Darold Larson receives NIC Gold Medal

Brother Larson addresses the NIC House of Delegates after receiving his award
Brother Larson addresses the NIC House of Delegates after receiving his award

Acacia is excited to announce that AFF Executive Director and past Acacia Executive Director Darold W. Larson, Washington State '81, has been awarded the prestigious North-American Interfraternity Conference Gold Medal for his years of service to Acacia and the fraternity movement. Brother Larson received his award at the NIC Annual Meeting in Kansas City, Missouri on April 19 with several Acacia brothers and dozens of interfraternity leaders present. George F. Patterson, Jr., Cincinnati '42, is the only other Acacian to receive the Gold Medal.

From the North-American Interfraternity Conference:

The NIC Gold Medal was first presented in 1940. The medal is presented in recognition of lifetime service to the fraternity movement. Past recipients of the Gold Medal are models of selfless service, visionary leadership, and courage of conviction. When considering nominations, the awards committee take into account tenure of service, interfraternal leadership, and a dedication to advancing the fraternal movement.

Visit the North-American Interfraternity Conference website for a full historical list of award winners.

Darold's nomination was submitted by several Acacia leaders including International President Jeremy Davis, Executive Director Patrick McGovern, and three past International Presidents.

Brother Larson (far right) with Acacia International Presidents (L-R): Gerald C. Cook, Robert E. Roberson, Jeremy N. Davis, Donald W. Solanas
Brother Larson (far right) with Acacia International Presidents (L-R): Gerald C. Cook, Robert E. Roberson, Jeremy N. Davis, Donald W. Solanas

Brother Larson's dedication to Acacia is unsurpassed and his achievements many. Past International President Gerald C. Cook, Shippensburg '66, sums it up best in his nomination: "Volunteer leaders come and go, but long-tenured staff are the glue, vision, and institutional memory that help organizations, especially fraternities, survive and succeed. I am sure that Acacia's present and future would not be as strong and optimistic as it is without Darold's many and diverse leadership contributions."

Darold has served Acacia as Executive Director and AFF Executive Director and is a past president of the Fraternity Executives Association. He began his tenure on the Acacia Headquarters staff as a Leadership Consultant in 1984. Since then, he has been recognized with the Order of Pythagoras (1985), the Award of Merit (1990), and the George F. Patterson, Jr. Outstanding Alumnus Award (2002). Darold is also the creator of the Acacia Leadership Academy which dates back to 1991, and as such the International Council has named the event in his honor, the Darold W. Larson Acacia Leadership Academy.

Read the Fall 2014 issue of The TRIAD

The Fall 2014 issue of The TRIAD is now here! As Acacia remains a constant through the changing seasons, learn more about our chapters' service efforts through Acacia Claus and Seven Days of Service, read about our successful 58th Biennial Conclave and Leadership Academy, and get the latest news on Acacia's chapters, colonies, and alumni. Read the issue online below (it may take a moment to load)...

2014 Strategic Plan - Playing in Rhythm

International Acacia leaders spent several months collaborating over the spring and summer to create the next Strategic Plan for the fraternity. With input from alumni and undergraduates alike, the 2014 Strategic Plan, Playing in Rhythm, was adopted by the 58th Biennial Conclave delegation and outlines the fraternity's vision, objectives, and goals over the next six years. Download the 2014 Strategic Plan (PDF)

2014 Strategic Plan - Playing in Rhythm

58th Biennial Conclave award winners

Founders' Achievement Award (Malcolm Award)Iowa State

Iowa State Chapter - Conclave 2014

Superior Chapter Award Kansas State

Kansas State Chapter - Conclave 2014

Outstanding Chapter Award Penn State

Penn State Chapter - Conclave 2014

Spirit of Excellence Awards

G.K. Nelson Academic Programming Iowa State Chapter Penn State Chapter

Alumni Programming & Advisory Kansas State Chapter

Best Chapter Publication Cornell Chapter

Athletic Achievement Central Oklahoma Chapter

Campus Leadership California University of Pennsylvania Chapter Kansas State Chapter Iowa State Chapter Millersville Chapter

Chapter Programming/Membership Education Kansas State Chapter

Communication Technology Cornell Chapter Kansas State Chapter

Dining Operations Purdue Chapter Nebraska Chapter

Financial Operations Iowa State Chapter

Good of the Fraternity Illinois Wesleyan Chapter Kansas State Chapter Iowa State Chapter

House Management Cornell Chapter

Human Service Programming California University of Pennsylvania Chapter Penn State Chapter Ohio Chapter Kansas State Chapter

Membership Recruitment Nebraska Chapter Penn State Chapter

Officer Organization Penn State Chapter Illinois Wesleyan Chapter

Pledge Education Central Oklahoma Chapter Penn State Chapter Illinois Wesleyan Chapter

Ritual Exemplification Iowa State Chapter Colorado

Risk Management Iowa State Chapter Colorado

President’s Award (Greatest membership growth) Trine Chapter

Executive Director’s Award (Most improved chapter) Nebraska Chapter

Best Young Colony/Chapter Trine Chapter

Harold D. Zarr, Jr. (Pictured right)

George F. Patterson, Jr. Award Harold D. Zarr, Jr. Iowa State Chapter 2013

Award of Merit Bradon S. Nelson, Kansas State Chapter Brian C. Nelson, Kansas State Chapter Michael A. Pastko, Purdue Chapter Anthony D.J. Phillips, Carleton Chapter Byron A. Tabor, Iowa Chapter

Awarded earlier in 2014: Donald W. Sabo, Washington Chapter Stephen J. Scalise, Louisiana State Chapter

Awarded in 2013: Richard S. Rasmussen, California Chapter

Roy C. Clark Award (2013) Sean Keanan, Nebraska Chapter (2014) Sabarinath Sankaranarayanan, Ohio State Chapter (2014) Mitchell Oldenberg, Lousiana State Chapter

Chapter Advisor of the Biennium Jeffrey Harmacek, Ohio State Chapter